European Championship 2016 – Zürich SUI

Posted on November 25, 2015


On behalf of the IAU Executive Committee I am pleased to announce that the Swiss Federal Crossbow Association ‘EASV’ will organize the 23 European Championship for IAU Match-crossbow 10m/30m and the 12 European Championship Field-crossbow IR1800 in Zürich, Switzerland from July 11 to 14, 2016. The European Championship will be integrated with the 2016 Swiss Federal Crossbow Festival – which traditionally attracts the largest participation of any target crossbow event.   Official Invitations will be sent out direct to IAU Member National Federations by the ECH organizing committee. In the meantime, the latest information can be found on the following website

I look forward to meeting your national teams in Zürich next July.

With sportive regards, Charles Méchin, IAU President

10. Europa Cup 18m FXB Indoor Sl.Brod CRO – Results

Posted on Oktober 07, 2015


Photo courtesy of Croatian Crossbow Federation

03-04 October 2015, Slavonski Brod (CRO) 10th Europa-Cup 18m Indoor Field-crossbow (4x IR300) – Men: 1. Andrej Krstinic CRO 1195, 2. Marijan Kajfes CRO 1191, 3. Zeljko Tijan CRO 1159. Women: 1. Valentina Pereglin CRO 1188, 2. Olga Klimova RUS 1187, 3. Nikolina Krivanek CRO 1183. U-21’s: 1. Ivan Kelecic CRO 1193, 2. Artem Popov RUS 1192, 3. Fedor Simashev RUS 1189. U-18’s: 1. Luka Strebenac CRO, 2. Martin Oborovecki CRO 1178, 3. Lolita Kochetova RUS 1174. O-55’s: 1. Istvan Matrai HUN 1156, 2. Karl-Heinz Konig GER 1115, 3. Karl-Heinz Schygulla GER 1096. 22 starts.

Download  EuropaCup_slBrod_2015_Results

Crossbow Developments in Russia

Posted on September 22, 2015

crossbow_training_centre_buryatiaMembers of the IAU Executive Committee will attend a meeting in Moscow, Russia on November 12th to 15th. The main topics for discussion will be the Crossbow Union of Russia’s plans to develop and manage a permanent Training Centre for Match and Field-crossbow shooting in Ulan-Ude, Republic of Buryatia. This exciting development comes as a direct result of the success of the IAU World Championships in Ulan-Ude in August. The CUR has already invested in 2 complete range installations for 30m match-crossbow as well as facilities for the 10m match and field-crossbow disciplines. With the assistance of the IAU technical committees, the CUR Crossbow Training Centre in Ulan-Ude will greatly facilitate the growth of crossbow shooting throughout Russia, Eastern Europe and Asia.  There are also plans for the creation of IAU Academy’s of Training with 5 candidate towns in Ulan-Ude (RUS), Budapest (HUN), Toulouse (FRA), Malinska (CRO) and Pune (IND) managed by the IAU. 


Posted on September 09, 2015



 2015 Cadet U-18’s (Field Division World Championship) winner Gaetan Bagnard (France) receives the Eric Dougliss trophy from the 2014 winner Lolita Kotchetova (Russia) at the IAU World Championships in Ulan-Ude, Russia.

Photo: Yves Lejard/IAU



The Young Arbalist Award is sponsored by the IAU Executive Committee in memory of the late Eric Dougliss of Great Britain (IAU Secretary General 2006-2008). The award is presented to the highest placed young arbalist competing at their first IAU World Championships. Eric, who died in 2011, was coach and mentor to many young shooters in his work for National Small-bore Rifle Association of Great Britain’s Airgun and Crossbow Committee.

NEW – Ulan-Ude Photogallery

IAU World Championships in Ulan-Ude is closed

Posted on August 26, 2015

ulan_ude_2015The 18th IAU World Match & Field Crossbow Championships has now closed. Running from August 19th until Sunday August 24th athletes from 13 nations competed in three international target crossbow events – 10m Match, 30m Match and Field-crossbow – adding up to 178 starts. Athletes from India, Mongolia, Ukraine and Kazakhstan were competing for the first time in Ulan-Ude. Seven other nations (Armenia, Israel, Uzbekistan, Lithuania, Estonia, Sweden and Azerbaijan) had registered but were unable to travel.

Switzerland was the most successful nation in the 30 meter Match-crossbow events with Jonas Hansen becoming World Champion in the 30m Open-Class Combined event and Joel Bruschweiler World Champion in the U-23 30m event. Croatian athletes were once again dominant in the outdoor Field-crossbow events. Russian athletes topped the overall medals table and were prominent in all 11 Individual Medal Finals with Nazar Luginets retaining his 10m Men’s world title for the host nation.  Russian teams took 3 out of 4 world titles in the 10m team events. In the Field-crossbow events Germany’s Ina Schmidt (Women’s) and Walter Hillenbrand (Senior O55’s) retained their world titles, while Croatia’s Andrej Krstinic took his first Men’s individual world title.

World Championships medal standings Match 10m & 30m events: 1. Russia 27 medals (10 gold, 6 silver, 11 bronze), 2. Switzerland 21 medals (11 gold, 5 silver, 5 bronze), 3. Germany 17 medals (5 gold, 3 silver, 9 bronze), 4. Austria 10 medals (7 silver, 3 bronze), 5. France 9 medals (1 gold, 7 silver, 1 bronze), 6. Slovenia 1 medal (gold).

World Championships medal standings Field events: 1. Croatia 19 medals (14 gold, 3 silver, 2 bronze), 2. Russia 14 medals (13 silver, 1 bronze), 3. Germany 11 medals (5 gold, 4 silver, 2 bronze), 4. France 7 medals (1 gold, 6 bronze), 5=. Hungary and Czech Republic 3 bronze medals each.

There were 4 new World Records (subject to ratification) in the Match-crossbow events – 10m Men’s Team : Russia (Luginets/Kamenskiy/Drjagin) 1770 rings, 10m U-23 Men’s Team: Germany (Wittman/Furst/Strobelt) 1173 rings, 10m U-23 Men (40 shots standing): Manuel Rainer Wittman GER 395 rings (Qualification) and 492 rings (Final) on his way to becoming the 2015 World Champion. Athletes on the outdoor 30m and Field-crossbow shooting ranges had to contend with windy conditions and as a result the scores were affected.

The IAU wishes to congratulate the Crossbow Union of Russia for hosting a spectacular and memorable World Championships in Ulan-Ude, the Capital City of the Republic of Buryatia. The excellent range installations at the Central Sports Stadium complex ensured that the athletes were able to perform to their best. The 30 metre Match-crossbow range was the first to be constructed outside Western Europe and will provide a legacy for the development of the sport in Russia and in Asia. Special thanks to our Russian member federation for that. In his closing speech the IAU President Charles Mechin expressed his thanks and appreciation to the Russian Crossbow Union, the City of Ulan-Ude, the world championships officials and volunteers, and, of course, the National Federations and their athletes for supporting the 18th IAU World Crossbow-shooting Championships in Ulan-Ude. CA.

Download ulan_ude_2015_results_revised (3.6MB)

2015 World Championships Photo Gallery visit